a day of food.. and chocolate.

Morning! How are you all doing? I am having just the most excellent Wednesday. Yesterday afternoon, right as I was finishing up my HIIT session, my dearest, beloved Mom walked into the gym, to my complete surprise! Yay! So my next few days will be full of love and fun! I am a total mama’s girl//my mom is my best friend… if you couldn’t tell.

So without further ado (I’m actually off to walk with mom herself as I finish up this post), here’s a recap of my eats in a day (Tuesday as it happens.)

check out Jenn’s website for some more WIAW inspiration!

Tuesday: My morning started off with a little sip of coffee before I headed out for a 50 minute walk. It was misting the whole time but luckily the rain held off until a little after I arrived back home.
IMG_0199

I started my morning off with my “hydration station”. 1/2 the coffee was drank before my morning walk. After the walk I had the rest of my coffee, a little apple cider vinegar + water, and a giant glass of water with lemon.

IMG_0204

Breakfast followed: sauerkraut, 2 scrambled eggs,with broccoli, peppers, and cauliflower.

IMG_0205

Thirty minute later, I realized breakfast wasn’t going to last me all morning, so I sliced up an organic gala apple and enjoyed it with some almond butter.

Breakfast held me through my classes (even if the classes made me sleepy…) and I finally arrived at lunch for a satisfying meal.

IMG_0208

A jumbo salad with 2 grilled chicken strips hidden underneath, and topped with some red wine vinegar.

IMG_0210

Afternoon snack (to fuel the studying!): 86% dark chocolate. snap, crackle, give me that chocolate! I think I’m an addict. I might be ok with it 😉

IMG_0107_2

My workout for the day was a 30 minute HIIT workout on the treadmill. 30 seconds sprint, 1 minute walk. Repeat. Feel like a (sweaty) beast.

IMG_0212

After my workout I still had over an hour until dinner and I needed a little refuel: chocolate chips (Enjoy Life dairy + soy free) with some raw almonds. More chocolate.. what can I say!

IMG_0213_2

Dinner enjoyed with my mom and a club meeting: salad with all the veggies, topped with salmon that I brought from home (because I am a nutrition nerd.)

And there you have it– my eats for a typical day! Sometimes more, sometimes less, but always chocolate. It’s the best.

Questions of the day:

What is one food you eat (almost) every day?

Chocolate: dark, milk, or white?

Do I talk about chocolate too much? 😉

23 thoughts on “a day of food.. and chocolate.

    • Yum! I can’t wait for some watermelon on a hot summer day!
      You should try EnjoyLife chocolate chips- they’re dairy free and so delicious!

  1. Sauerkraut for breakfast? That’s an interesting one and I mean it in the most positive way. I’ve only ever had it for lunch or dinner so far but why not? Savoury breakfasts are definitely a good idea.
    Everyday foods? Almond butter, apples and chocolate. Four squares of Lindt yesterday? It hurts my budget a little but what can I do 😉 ?!

    • The sauerkraut helps my stomach first thing in the morning 🙂 Just a small serving!
      Almond butter and chocolate are definitely an every day staple for me too!

  2. Apples are my daily go-to. I love them! Chocolate…not so much. I am a firm believer in fermented veggies though. Yummy!

    By the way, have you heard about the book, Salad Love? I just learned about it and it has revolutionized my thinking on salads. Take a look and let me know what you think.

    Keep up the great work! Your journey encourages me. As I transition from SAD to my new lifestyle, I find that I get inspiration from others who get this thing.

  3. Ohhh I LOVE sauerkraut and enjoy it for breakfast sometimes. So glad to hear I’m not the only one!
    Everyday foods: eggs whites and frozen veggies for breakfast. Sweet potatoes with cinnamon and honey for a snack. I love me some sweet potatoes!
    Chocolate: white. I know it’s the least healthy and not really even chocolate but I lOVE IT!
    Thanks for sharing your WIAW – love seeing what everyone is eating and sharing my own!

    • haha I’m glad to hear it too! sweet potatoes + cinnamon and honey are AMAZING. add some butter and I’m good to go 😉

  4. I loooove desk chocolate. It probably IS the one food I have every day. Lately I’ve been on a strawberries and plain yogurt kick. Add some chopped almonds on there and I’m happy!

  5. Olivia, You make all your meals look so appetizing; how true we eat with our eyes! Maybe nutrition/ food education ETC is a choice that you might consider.
    Enjoy the chocolate, everything in moderation is satisfactory and delicious
    You are AMAZING Have fun with your amazing mom! Love t and r

  6. I eat peanut butter and banana oatmeal nearly every day. I use only natural salt-free peanut butter, banana, steel cut oats, jay robb vanilla whey protein, and some almond milk. High in calories, but is good fuel for my workout! Dark chocolate is for when I’m craving chocolate and need something I won’t gorge on, milk is for fun, and white is for pretzels 🙂

Leave a comment