spring break 2015: the highlights.

IMG_0239

 ^^nothing like these two friends for an 8 hour car ride. snacks, music, and entertainment included.^^

IMG_0240

^^a quick stop at Subway, which meant a chopped salad for me. not too shabby for a ‘fast’ food establishment.^^

IMG_0265

^^by the time we arrived around 6 (shaved an hour “off” our time thanks to the change from Eastern to Central time. for an easy/fun first night, we decided to walk down the street and see what we found. we ended up at a little restaurant, and they had karaoke! we didn’t really participate, but one friend got pulled into singing when she was too enthusiastic about a song coming on!^^

Sunday through Wednesday we were superbly lucky, and we were able to hang out on the beach all day!

IMG_0309

^^I started every morning with a 60-80 minute walk. I wanted to ‘rest’ from hard workouts, but I just love being active and a morning walk really puts me in a great mood!^^

IMG_0303

^^the beach was pretty sweet.^^

IMG_0319

^another thing I started most mornings with: some sauerkraut (and unpictured probiotics). being on vacation/out of my normal eating routine can throw digestion our of whack. a little fermented food and some probiotics helps me keep my tummy happy!^

IMG_0324

IMG_0290

^^beach adventures^^

IMG_0358

IMG_0380

^^I threw together a lot of salads this week. They’re quick, easy, and cold after sitting in the sun. the bacon I had lying around took my salads to the next level.^^

IMG_0312

IMG_0325

^^eggs and veggies, perfect before a morning on the beach.^^

IMG_0350

 

^^sand art. he was the artist, my relaxing legs became the unwitting canvas!^^

IMG_0327

^^sand castle adventures. to be honest, digging the “moat” was my favorite part. back, legs, and arms were definitely sore the next day!^^

IMG_0315

^^isn’t it kind of required to eat ice cream at the beach? there was a homemade ice cream shop (Blue Mountain creamery) just one block off the beach which = dangerous/delicious. I honestly don’t remember what I had, but the chocolate chunks in it were amazing!^^

IMG_0288

^^a simple, throw together dinner. I cooked a bunch of veggies + chicken the first night we were there, and then I didn’t have to spend an hour on dinner every night^^

IMG_0384

^^we walked lots every day, which I loved. between that and my morning walk I was getting 30,000+ steps every day (#Fitbitnerd) which, in normal people terms is about 10-15 miles of walking every day. that being said, I really didn’t feel the need or want to workout every day. I enjoyed relaxing with my friends while still getting lots of movement throughout the day. The one day I did workout, was a more rainy day when we couldn’t get out to the beach. I did a 40 minute HIIT workout. 1.5 miles out, then I ran halfway back to a good hill. I did hill repeats for about 10 minutes, and then headed home.^^

IMG_0364

^^another day, another ice cream. personally, I think it’s amazing that I only ate ice cream twice. I normally like a 1 to 1 ratio of days at the beach/ice cream consumed ;)^^

IMG_0400_2

^^my best friend//sometimes we match {by accident}^^

IMG_0407

^^our big night out. the restaurant ended up being a disaster– pre cooked/cold food, unwilling to split our check, extra items on our bill, etcetera– but the company and laughter was great^^

Questions of the day:

Do you have a “spring break” this year?

Would you choose to travel to the beach or the mountains for vacation?

4 thoughts on “spring break 2015: the highlights.

  1. Looks like you had a fun break! I had “spring break” (technically it was a winter break) a couple of weeks ago, but I just stayed home 🙂
    I definitely prefer the beach to the mountains! Love warm weather and sunshine.
    Also, I love the dress you are wearing in the last two pictures!

    • it was! I really love the beach too– so fun & so relaxing!
      The dress is a recent (birthday) gift from Anthropologie!

Leave a comment