WIAW: fat loss distortions.

Lets talk about fat loss. A hot topic among many fitness gurus and many people around the world.  But what is a fat loss goal really? It is not a weight loss goal. If you have a fat loss goal– you should not have a “goal weight”. Muscle mass should be your goal.

 IMG_9586

^^like any good day, my morning started off with coffee^^

IMG_9591_2

IMG_9595

^^morning walk + sunrise. i’ll take it :)^^

Goal weights say nothing about how you want to look. How about you set a goal to do 50 squats, body weight bench presses, playing with your family for hours outdoors? That’s a goal you can work towards, and a goal that will enrich your life.

IMG_9606

^^breakfast: eggs, spinach, some seasoning. a side of paleo pumpkin bread and some Kerrygold butter. my favorite!^^

IMG_9575

^^a blurry (sorry!) lunch on the go. salad topped with grilled chicken.^^

Gaining muscle– it has everything to do with health and how we look.

In contrast, a certain weight, that number on the scale, has very little influence on our health. Sure if you have a lot of weight to lose, it might be a little fun to watch your scale go down but 1) that is fostering unhealthy behavior and thought and 2) isn’t it just as much fun to watch your clothes become looser?

IMG_9605_2

^^class, followed by a 30 minute sprint workout. It was the bomb.^^

IMG_9574

^^dinner, was the same as breakfast…one of those days, ya know.^^

IMG_9614

^^fro-yo with my roomie. to discuss her wedding and life as college seniors :)^^

The scale doesn’t validate us, and it also can’t measure your health, it is literally just a matter of how hard gravity is pulling on your body. Yep.

I also want to point out that not everyone is created to look the same. Your healthy body weight is different from another person’s, and that is beautiful!

go on over to Peas and Crayons to read more WIAW posts!

12 thoughts on “WIAW: fat loss distortions.

  1. I really love what you say about setting goals which enrich your life. I think that is such an essential concept which is often and easily overlooked. It’s simple to set a goals which is “superficial” but not actually benefiting us. 🙂

  2. So so true.. I kind of measure health now with how I feel – mentally/emotionally and not physically! I basically don’t attach numbers to anything – food, weight, and even though I track numbers in terms of workouts (eg. how much did I lift/reps etc) but I try my damnedest not to judge myself by those numbers! Love the look of that pumpkin bread btw – recipe? 😉

  3. Such a great post! I weighed myself for the first time in almost six months and I wasn’t very happy with the number. But I can tell I’m gaining muscle and losing inches. Dumb scales!!

Leave a Reply

