OBC: life lessons.

7: seven lessons you’ve learned so far this year

7. Possessions don’t add value to my life. I’ve definitely been ‘working up’ to this goal over my last three years of college moving ins & outs. But this summer, moving out of my apartment in May, into one apartment in June, and then to another in August… I am so sick of material possessions. I would much rather spend the afternoon surrounded by friends than by my stuff, so I think that says it all.

6. Saving money empowers you. I am a college student, living in a ‘free’ apartment (thanks Mom & Dad) getting half or more of my meals for ‘free’ (again… Mom & Dad you rock), so it can be easy to take this for granted sometimes. I am working hard this year on keeping perspective, and saving money for my future (hello real world in 6 months 27 days) and it feels good. I am in charge of my future, and I feel empowered knowing that I am handling it in a smart way.

5. It’s easy to have a dream, it takes a lot of work to make it happen.

4. Life is all about who you’re surrounded by. I’m more aware of this than ever, with lots of transition coming up for me in the next year.

3. There’s a lot I don’t know. I’m enjoying living into that, and learning more every day.

2. Asking for help is never a bad thing.

1. Rest is more important than I thought. I like to go go go, and it’s easy to do that in our fast-paced world. But this year I have really realized how much I really need to rest. I am working on it every day 🙂

 

Question of the day:

What are some lessons you’ve learned this year?

3 thoughts on “OBC: life lessons.

  1. Great lessons!! You’re such a sweet person. College life can definitely be marvelous, so I love how you’re keeping everything in perspective and saving money. You’re amazing!!
    This year, I’ve learned a lot about myself, about how to manage my time and energy more effectively. Also, I’ve learned to not over think things that are out of my control!
    Have a Happy Weekend!! xoxo

  2. I completely agree about material items and saving your money. I feel like I end up moving once a year and it is such an annoying process! I always realize how much junk I have that I don’t need or use at all. Saving money is also a lesson I’ve been trying to learn even though it can be tougher than you think.

Leave a Reply

