WIAW: food freedom.

Happy WIAW y’all! Another addition of my daily meals and activities to share.

I used to be one of those people who had to plan out what they were going to eat before the day even began. Breakfast, lunch, and dinner, packed up and planned out– I mean otherwise how could I control what I ate and the ‘healthiness’ of it all, right? And don’t even get me started on the stress of unplanned activities like going out for ice cream with friends or an impromptu dinner out with the family.

IMG_6499

Eggs + veggies // paleo banana bread with Kerrygold grass-fed butter.

IMG_6502

Random veggies, I only had a few spoonfuls of these.

IMG_6500

Coconut cashews// I ate way to many of these to finish up my breakfast, but they’re so delicious I couldn’t help myself.

Now, I can’t imagine going back to that controlling, crazy mindset. The only time I plan things out now are dinners I’m making with the boy or lunches I have to pack on the go. An ice cream run in the afternoon, why not? Dinner out with a friend who’s visiting, sure thing! It’ll sound  crazy to say, but I actually eat healthier now than I ever did before. Getting out of that hectic mindset allows me to be more in tune with my body. If I have a bigger breakfast, I don’t have to stress, because I know my body will just tell me when it’s hungry again.

IMG_6503

Afternoon salad leftovers // Chicken, lettuce, walnuts, and a little pomegranate dressing. I wasn’t too hungry after such a huge breakfast so I just went with it.

IMG_6519

Workout time- walking, HIIT, and some upper body exercises to round it out.

IMG_6522

Cooking with the best friend // and he’s wearing the same shirt I had on earlier.

IMG_6523

Dinner as gluten free pizza (homemade!), bacon, and pineapple.

Post dinner: dark chocolate at bible study- YUM.

Stressing about what we eat each day will not make us any healthier. Worry about what you’re eating in the moment. Choose that healthy salad, or a piece of fruit instead of candy. But– don’t stress about that choice all day//week. Our bodies are smart and although it takes practice (and sometimes metabolic healing) we can learn to be in tune with our hunger and nutritional needs. That is the healthiest living of all!

Questions of the day:

Do you eat intuitively?

What is the biggest struggle of healthy eating for you?

2 thoughts on “WIAW: food freedom.

  1. I look back at the times (long time ago and as recent as this morning) when I over think what I should be eating and what I am eating. The more I stress about it, the more worked up I get and the less intuitive I eat. If I slow down and just go with the flow a bit more, my eating actually improves without me really thinking about it. Strange how that works 🙂 Have a great day!

Leave a Reply

