America the Beautiful

Happy (late) 4th of July y’all! I hope your Fridays were work-free and fun!

I woke up nice and early, and decided to go for a walk and have some quiet time before the festivities of the day began around campus. I passed by a 5K on my walk and felt super awkward being that person who’s walking through the race… oops! I got off their path as soon as I could.

IMG_6382

Breakfast

I whipped up a random plate of goodies- 2 eggs, asparagus, and a banana with the last of my chocolate hazelnut butter 😢.

IMG_6383

The rest of my morning was a combination of medical school applications, cleaning, and a little fun nail painting.

IMG_6392

America. I couldn’t resist.

Lunch

Lunch came a little later as a bunch of thrown together leftovers. Spaghetti squash, asparagus, tomato sauce, and some crispy bacon on top. Carrots + hummus on the side.

IMG_6391

For a fun afternoon break from our work, I met up with the boyfriend and we finished watching The King’s Speech. It was amazing. I’m probably the last person on the planet who hadn’t seen it, but if you live under a movie rock like me, this is one movie you should venture out for!

Workout

An afternoon workout in the cool AC of my apartment was perfection. I did an hour circuit loosely following this Jillian Michael’s video on YouTube. I was sweating up a storm by the end. I repped my America shirt (space camp…. yes I’m a space camp kid ha) for the workout, I think it gave me the extra push at the end ;).

IMG_6395

IMG_6394

Rehydrating with berry delicious water.

The rest of the evening was spent celebrating with my favorite boys. We started off grilling behind our apartments. Grass fed burgers, watermelon, Cape Cod chips, and the most delicious grilled corn you’ve ever tasted.

  IMG_6401

 IMG_6404

My mini burgers. The boys made fun of me, but they were perfectly cooked, ha!

IMG_6405

For the corn, we just wrapped it up in foil and cooked it on the grill the whole time the burgers were cooking. It was sweet and melt in your mouth amazing. 

After dinner, we headed out to make our own fireworks show… the boys were loving it. We bought some fun little things and then headed over to their fraternity house to light them off.

IMG_6413

We had a great time. The only downside were the literally hundreds of bugs that ate us up. Oh well, the sacrifices we make for fireworks, right?

IMG_6460

To end the night… the boys had a little fun with their fire pit. Classic.

IMG_6461

We headed back to our apartments after that and hung out with some visiting friends before calling it a night!

Happy 4th Weekend!

Question of the day:

What are your big plans for the weekend?

4 thoughts on “America the Beautiful

  1. Looks like a fun day! I ran a 5k race yesterday morning and had a cookout with my family.Today I’m going to the lake to swim and jet ski. 🙂 Enjoy the rest of your weekend!

Leave a Reply

