Healthy & Quick- study day eats.

It’s major crunch time for me here at school. But that doesn’t mean I want my nutrition to suffer. Im not going to lie, this week will probably include more chocolate, snacks, and way more caffeine than I normally like, but I’m not going to beat myself up. Whatever keeps me sane.

One thing I do know though, is if I eat unhealthy foods and pass up my normal vegetables + fruits, I’ll reach my test days feeling tired, cranky, and mentally weak. Good foods truly fuel my studying and I need to keep on track with that!

Breakfast

Yesterday morning started off with a simple, easy breakfast. Udi’s Gluten-Free Toast, with almond butter (that looks like a little animal!). On the side I ate some frozen fruit. This breakfast didn’t take away from my study/packing time, but it did leave me satisfied and fueled for a morning of work

IMG_5432

A few hours later, I walked over to campus. I really do love the 1 mile walk. It’s a great break and it forces me to get some time outside, on days when I would normally be locked away studying all day.

For lunch: a “falafel salad” (minus falafel + chicken) from our campus restaurant. Simple and delicious. I love a huge salad to fuel my studying. All those vegetables are great brain power! Plus cheese + chicken give it more staying power. Proteins and fats are even more important than the carbs, so I try to include some in every meal I eat.

IMG_5442

Studying took up the next 1.5 hours, and then my workout. I hopped on the treadmill and did an easy 3.18 mile run. After that, I was still feeling pretty good, so I hopped on the Arc trainer for another 30 minutes of sweatin’. Working out is truly my de-stresser, and it re-energizes me when I know I have to go back and stare at a computer for the next hours.

IMG_5445

IMG_5452

As a nice treat, on of our Health Sciences professors organized a “Study Day Recharge” in the library. Healthy snacks, yoga, and a much needed relaxation. I grabbed a few snacks to much on while studying. Green smoothie, homemade hummus + veggies, and a few local strawberries. Don’t mind if I do 🙂

IMG_5453

After another hour or so of work, I headed to the dining hall and grabbed this monster salad to-go. The boy got Thai takeout, but I wanted to save my money for a friend’s birthday dinner tonight. Plus I know I usually eat more rice than I intend to and that just weighs me down energy-wise. This salad + some blue corn chips I had in my apartment did the trick.

I spent the rest of the night with my boy, working on our recommendation-letter requests and watching the coolest Disocvery Channel shows- Marooned and Dual Survival. Who says you can’t be productive and have fun at the same time!

IMG_5455

How do you stay healthy during stressful weeks?

4 thoughts on “Healthy & Quick- study day eats.

  1. I’m in the middle of a few stressful weeks myself. I’m trying to take my moments of free time and REALLY enjoy them. I should be fitting in more workouts though!

    • It’s so hard but taking time to relax + time to workout definitely makes me feel better. We can only do our best though!

Leave a Reply

