Walking with God

Today’s post is  a little more personal than I usually get- but that’s what this blog is for, right? As someone who is a relatively young Christian {about 1.5 years at this point} I am learning new things about The Lord every day, and I hope you all enjoy a little elaboration on that!

 3ad8fbacfef16ad70b99e70ebb6be9c2

Unlike a lot of people, I have always been a “rule-lover“. Give me a set of rules, and I will follow it to a T. When I became a Christian, I looked for that set of rules that I needed to follow. Pray daily, don’t gossip, go to church etc…

It was easy for me to make a “checklist” to go through each day with. This made my first few months as a Christian incredibly easy. As long as I did/didn’t do the things on my list, I thought I was being a “good Christian”. Yet, I didn’t feel my heart or my ways had really been changed? Why?! I was frustrated and upset– I was doing everything right, right?

A while later, I had the amazing opportunity to hear Leonce Crump speak {Pastor at Renovation Church in Atlanta. You all should really check him out if you have time}. He made a simple statement, that totally shook me up, and has changed the way I practice my faith. And it was incredibly simple.

“It doesn’t matter how much you know about God, if you don’t know Him.”

Bam. I was so convicted by that statement and it is something I dwell on frequently, even now- months later. Building my relationship with God, rather than just my knowledge of Him, has been a complete change from the way I grew up. It is definitely the biggest struggle I face- because, don’t all our struggles stem from a lack of focus/strength in our relationship with God? That’s how it works for me.

Living an unsegmented life. Walking with God throughout the day. Making Him the center of every task, decision, and especially interactions with others around me. That is the ultimate goal, and something I am working towards each day.

a9d2cda582552c74bda69642c4343ee4

4 thoughts on “Walking with God

  1. I can so relate to this. I am really good at following rules yet I still struggle with having a real and personal relationship with God. Something that really helped me was the study book called “Experiencing God” by Henry & Richard Blackaby. I highly recommend it 🙂

Leave a Reply

