Snow Day!

Sorry for the delay y’all…. busy bee over here!

Wednesday:

Wednesday was our Snow Day over here! It was freeeeeeezing {for us southerners ;)} and the roads were extremely icy. Too many people were hurt on Tuesday night, and I’m glad Furman decided to keep everyone off the roads Wednesday.

I started the day off relaxing in my apartment, and working on some homework. All bundled up, and enjoying the day off. It was actually what I needed to catch up on homework.. fun 😉

IMG_4069 IMG_4068

^Some breakfast.. at 11:15. I sort of got distracted, and then realized I was starving.. oops. Roasted Red Pepper Tomato Soup, Egg whites + spinach, Udi’s gluten free toast, and Sabra hummus. Veggie filled and delicious breakfast.

 IMG_4072

^^After some more homework, my bestie/roommate Carolyn and I went on an hour walk around the lake. It was cold, but so refreshing out! We wore 5+ layers each, so we stayed nice and warm on our walk. It felt good to get out and stretch after being stuck inside all morning.^^

IMG_4071 

^^Lunch, post walk. Tuna fish, hummus, more Udi’s toast.^^

For my workout, I headed over to the gym, and pumped out 40 minutes on the arc trainer. It stretches my legs out so well! I love the versatility too- it can be low-intensity cardio or a HIIT workout, depending on the settings.

IMG_4074

IMG_4075

^^So warm post-workout. That didn’t last too long…^^

IMG_4073

^^look at those icicles!! that bike would be fun to ride!^^

IMG_4078

For dinner, my boy came over and we cooked. All the dining services were closed on campus, and this was a fun alternative. We made quinoa with stir fried vegetables, and chickpeas. All topped with a Red Curry sauce. Too good!! And I got the leftovers 🙂

Thursday

Thursday morning it was back to class, boo! But it was good..too many days off and the work starts piling up, teachers get anxious…

It was a bright and early morning in the lab for me. I am lucky to have my boy working in the same lab as me! But, we keep our relationship on the DL in the lab. It’s not easy, but we don’t want to make it weird.

We walked over to lab at 8:30, and almost froze on the way there. It’s about a 1 mile walk, and just long enough to chap my cheeks and freeze my ears. Oh the joys of winter…

IMG_4080

IMG_4079

IMG_4081 IMG_4082

^^In lab, we marked up NMK and ran some tests on him. Good practice. He was such a good sport- we had to shave his legs around the EMG test sites, and scrub the dead skin off {not a pleasant process}. Such a champ^^

IMG_4085

^^After finally escaping the lab, I grabbed some Dining Hall lunch with the boy and some friends. Then it was off to the gym for me, and another Arc workout. It’s my favorite cross training these days! I really can’t wait to run my half, so I can start strength training more again. It’s so hard right now, because my legs are  tired on the days I’m not running, that I don’t want to tire them out more with weights. Vicious cycle!^^

IMG_4086

IMG_4087

Questions:

IMG_4088

^^my most exciting eat of the day– 3.2.1. mug cake. 3 tablespoons of Bobs Red Mill Gluten Free Chocolate Cake Mix, 2 tablespoons of water, 1 minute in the microwave. Easy and delicious. I topped mine with a mashed banana for some “icing”. It was such a yummy and easy treat. Plus, I didn’t have to worry about the entire cake sitting around, taunting me…^^

 IMG_4084 

Last thought, my beautiful campus, late in the afternoon on our snow day.

Question of the day:

Did you have a snow day this week? What did you do with it?

One thought on “Snow Day!

Leave a Reply

