Busy, hectic, fun!

Monday:

On Monday we were lucky to have off from class for MLK day. It was such a treat. A lot of girls at Furman are rushing right now, so my roommates and I decided to host a brunch for all our independent friends. It turned out so well! We had cinnamon rolls, fruit salad, biscotti {from TJ Maxx– they were gluten free too! Check out Ginny Bakes for some gluten free treats :)}. Other girls who came brought some more food, and it worked out perfectly. Everyone chatted, hung out, and got to know each other better. We all usually hang out in different circles, but it was great to get to know them a little better.

IMG_3969

^my adorable roommmates.^

After cleaning up from brunch, I stopped by the dining hall to eat/hang out with the boys. I was actually pretty hungry because I couldn’t have most of the food at the brunch- fruit and gf biscotti can only get you so far! It was fun to catch up with the guys and just hang out.

A little bit later, I headed over to my boy’s apartment to fold his laundry… yep. Normally I would be totally against this- I can barely fold my own laundry without crying, but he was off doing fraternity things {it was rush weekend for them too!} so I helped him out. Either he has  a lot of clothes or he doesn’t do wash very often..hm… wonder which it could be 😉

IMG_3970

My workout for the day  happened mid-afternoon, as a study/cleaning break. 20 minutes on the Elliptical, and 30 minutes on the Arc Trainer. Simple and easy, and the perfect stretch out from my run on Sunday. I also foam rolled for a few minutes after my workout. I really want to get a foam roller for my apartment, so I can do it when I’m just hanging out/watching TV. Any suggestions on a good brand?

IMG_3973

IMG_3972

IMG_3976

IMG_3977

Tuesday:

Yesterday morning, I woke up early to meet a friend for breakfast. Normally I sleep in on Tuesdays, but catching up with friends beats sleep any day! I headed to the dining hall and we talked for a couple of hours before deciding we should get off and be productive with our days!
IMG_3980

^Eggs, fruit, potatoes. Gluten free, and not too shabby for a dining hall meal. I think breakfast is actually their best meal of the day!^

Around 10 am, I decided to check out the material for my Kaplan MCAT course, which starts tonight. Well… there was ~ 5 hours of diagnostic tests and 3 sections of reading to do before the class today. Oops. Needless to say, my morning and afternoon were pretty full with all that work.

After taking all the tests, I needed a mental break, so I stopped for a  workout. A 4.5 mile run followed by 15 minutes on the Arc. It felt good to run, I just wish it hadn’t been so cold outside, or I would have enjoyed the sunshine + fresh air.

IMG_3983

IMG_3984

After my workout and some more homework, I headed off for dinner, followed by a meeting. The rest of the night was very un-eventfully spent doing homework and reviewing for my class tonight.

The class is 6-9…definitely a marathon. I am excited though, to see what it is like {and hopefully find out that it is worth the big $$ it cost}.

Questions of the day:

Are you a procrastinator?

Do you take mental/physical breaks even when you have lots of work to do?

I can’t function if I don’t at least get a few breaks in. My favorite study breaks are going on a 10 minute walk with a friend or a 10 min run by myself. It totally wakes me up and rejuvenates me for more studying!

Leave a Reply

