The good, the delicious, and the run.

Yesterday was my first day back to classes. Things were a little hectic, with the boy arriving so late the night before//the fact that I’m a terrible unpacker…. But it was all ok. Just a messy room…which I’ll deal with sometime this week.. I hope.

Anyway- I woke up around 8 to get dressed and ready for 9:30 am class. Before heading off to class, I threw together some gluten free cereal, greek yogurt, and a banana. It was scrumptious. One of my roommates locked herself out of her room 😦 so I gave her shoes, a sweatshirt, and my car to go get the RA and unlock her room. It lucked out for me because I got a ride to class 🙂 {which is a mile walk from my apartment…and I was running late!}.

IMG_3892

After class, I walked back to my apartment and organized a little bit before making some lunch. Tilapia, pearl onions, carrots, and hummus on the side. Plus some delicious Glutino pretzels. Simple and fast lunch. Enjoyed in excellent company.

 IMG_3893IMG_3894

After lunch, I headed off to class- Spanish Literature. Should be interesting. Spanish is my major and I love the language. All languages in fact, it’s just amazing to learn the different ways that people communicate/have communicated throughout time. Plus, my roommate is in the class which always makes it fun!

After that class, I headed off to the Health Sciences lab, where I am doing an Independent Study/Research class this semester. I’ll be looking at rehabilitation in Stroke victims. It’s going to be a very interesting study!

  IMG_3895

^After lab, it was time for a much needed snack + coffee. I had to fuel up before my long run. I a new Kind bar {new to me at least}- Almonds and Apricots in Yogurt. I loved it, and will definitely be trying this one again! I am always in love with Kind’s flavors, and I can’t wait to try more of them.

The Run:

This run was not one of my better runs. I’m sure it had a lot to do with not sleeping much the day before, and being dehydrated from traveling. Oh well right? They can’t all be great runs. I wish I had run outside, but the weather was gross/rainy and just not worth it!

 IMG_3896

IMG_3899

IMG_3897

^Run– with 2 breaks for bathroom/water refill. Not the best…but 8 miles is 8 miles!^

 

IMG_3901

 

^After the run, my amazing roommate Carolyn picked my up so I didn’t have to make the 1 mile walk back to our apartment.^

IMG_3903

A quick shower later, we headed off to the Dining Hall for a quick dinner. I went with a salad– featuring feta cheese, artichoke hearts, carrots, romaine, spinach, alfalfa sprouts, and hummus. Plus corn chips for a little crisp. After dinner I grabbed a mini-cup of Rice Chex and chocolate chips as a treat.

fd914ef5d5e4afd68ac0fcbf7c654e6e

The rest of the of the evening was spent catching up on emails while celebrating Juan-uary! Juan Pablo is adorable and so fun to watch! The Bachelor definitely isn’t a quality show…but if I’m going to watch trashy TV I love me some Bachelor. Especially a Latino man with a precious daughter!

Questions of the day:

Are you celebrating Juan-uary?!

What gets you through a hard workout/run?

Leave a Reply

