Back home. And lots of driving.

December 31-January 2 were spent driving home for my mom and I. Jacksonville to New York– about 996 miles. My conference ended on Tuesday, the 31st, and my mom and I decided to get some miles down and make the next days a little bit shorter for ourselves.

Early that morning, I did a 60 min treadmill interval workout. I knew I would be in the car all day, and I wanted to get my sweat on before being stuck!

IMG_3636

Before leaving, we stopped at Zoe’s Kitchen, a Mediterranean style restaurant. I had a quinoa salad and it was so so good.

IMG_3699

Quinoa and veggies any day! Zoe’s Kitchen is a chain, so if you’re lucky enough to have one, go check it out!

IMG_3703

The drive from Jax to NY is 99% on I-95. It’s insane! Driving on that one road for 6+ hours….it gets very monotonous. Luckily my mom has me to jabber away and keep her entertained! 😉 We drove from about 12-7 pm, with only one stop!

IMG_3700

For our big New Year’s Eve party, mom and I headed out to Olive Garden. We thought it would be fast and easy, but it was so crowded! Oh well, more time for us to hang out 🙂 For dinner I went with the tilapia and shrimp off their Lighter Italian Menu. It was delicious!

After dinner, my mom and I headed to our hotel and conked out long before midnight! Oh well, haha. We needed to be prepared for another long drive the next day.

On Wednesday, my mom and I got up early to get in a little sweat sesh together. I did another treadmill workout, more incline walking than running this time. I would have preferred something different, like biking, but the options are limited when you’re in a tiny hotel!

IMG_3696

Breakfast was eaten at our hotel before we hit the road. A little oatmeal, fruit salad, and some eggs. Plus some trail mix once we were in the car.

IMG_3705

About an hour before we arrived in Baltimore {our stop for the day– to visit cousins!} my mom and I stopped at Applebee’s for some lunch. I had tilapia, vegetables, and potatoes Nothing special, but it did the trick.

After lunch, we stopped at Target- who can resist?! Then we headed up to Baltimore where we spent the rest of the afternoon with my family. It was great. We just talked and hung out, and enjoyed each other. I had some delicious chocolate covered pretzels, and some steamed shrimp and vegetables {we ordered Chinese for dinner}. It was a great night!

Thursday morning, I woke up before everyone else, so I got in an elliptical workout. It felt good to finally get something other than the

IMG_3719 IMG_3723IMG_3722

IMG_3721

 

Mid-workout photo…. always interesting.

After realizing that a snow storm was heading towards us, we packed up as fast as we could and got on the road. Thank God, we didn’t hit any bad traffic and made it home before any real snow was coming down!

After we got home, my mom and I spent the rest of the afternoon crafting. My dad was packing up Christmas decorations like a good little elf! We watched the movie Munich. It was really intense, but very good. If you don’t mind some violence and love some suspense- you should definitely watch!

For dinner I had some homemade soup– my dad is a little chef! This was all vegetables and potatoes. Perfect for such a freezing winter night.

IMG_3726

 

After the soup I also had a few peanut butter cookies! Oops.. haha today I’m starting a new challenge for January which I’ll share soon. Time to get a new plan for 2014!

Question of the day:

Do you craft with your family?

Any good movies you’ve seen lately?

2 thoughts on “Back home. And lots of driving.

  1. My family is not terribly crafty, but once in a while I can get mom to jump in on something with my daughter and I.

    The last movie I really liked was the new Hunger Games and we re-watched TURBO because my daughter got it for Christmas, that movie is so cute!

    That soup looks amazing! Happy New Year.

Leave a Reply

