faith and the internet.

my faith in Jesus Chrust is the most important thing in the world to me, and I use lots of tools to help me stay committed and growing on my journey. As a college student, I’m busy busy busy and always looking for ways to have my bible/faith/religion more accessible to help keep me on track and keep me accountable. With that in mind, I thought I would share my favorite technology-realted ways to keeping faithful to Christ.

1. BibleGateway.com

bible-gateway-1 

www-biblegateway-com-2012-1-2-15-24-41

This is a great tool  for people who are always on the go, or who like to read many different versions of the Bible. I love reading different translations (some of my favorites are NASB, MSG, and CEV). It allows you to read the Bible on your laptop, ipad, iphone, anywhere!

2. Youversion.com

7b2bd_2902015_com_youversion_logorev

app-icon-english-512x512-eb6a67e6a54cfcd29ac4d62caf19d9af

Youversion is a great website. It’s similar to BibleGateway in that it gives you access to the entire Bible (in many languages/versions) from pretty much any mobile device. The reason I love it so much is because of all the devotional/reading plans they offer. I love reading the Bible but often have trouble working through large amounts of text on my own. Having access to so many different reading plans gives me direction in my daily devotions and guidance for building my relationship with God. I have the app on my phone to keep me up to date when I’m on vacation!

3. Enterthebible.org

enterthebible-home ps-ueyliqdn-170x170-75

This website is one of the most informative tools out there! Enter the Bible provides a summary, outline, background issues, introductory issues, and theme for each book of the Old and New Testaments. I find this very helpful when I starting a new book of the Bible or wondering about the historical and theological context of a certain passage. They even provide maps and external resources (like commentaries and critiques) to widen your knowledge. I recommend this site to anyone looking to expand their faith and their education!

So just some of my helpful hints! Happy Friday!

Leave a Reply

