a weekend for the books- part 1.

      this weekend (really Thursday-Monday) was a truly wonderful, busy, and joy filled weekend! my boy came to visit from Ohio. we’re lucky that we only have to deal with ‘long distance’ for ~2 months out of the year.. but it doesn’t make those 2 months any easier. This visit was especially great because it was the first time Nate (my boy) has visited my family/my town. I’ve already been to his house 4 times so this visit was long overdue!

due to the visit, we had action filled days and lots of pictures to share!

the boy arrived on Thursday night- an hour late, but we made it work! After an hour drive from the airport, we met my family (+1 of my best friends) at Baja Grill a local mexican restaurant that makes fresh and delicious food- plus they have plenty of healthy options. We enjoyed and chatted away- it was the perfect casual setting for everyone to get to know each other. I definitely recommend this restaurant to anyone local!

DSCN0396

DSCN0395

After dinner, we all headed back to my house for some amazing desserts. On top of the Jeni’s Splendid Ice Creams, we were lucky enough to have a homemade dark chocolate cake- courtesy of my sweet Mom! She used this recipe for Hershey’s “Especially Dark” Chocolate Cake and she even made the icing from scratch. Unfortunately I don’t have a good picture of the cake, but you can catch a glimpse of the dark, rich color on Nate’s plate below!

DSCN0401 DSCN0400 IMG_1116

The night ended with some catching up for Nate and I, and then passing out from sheer exhaustion.

Then on Friday we were left crafting new plans unexpectedly. We had planned to go to the beach for my Ohio boy- they don’t have beaches there, and I think we have some of the best on Long Island. But the rain/cold sort of prevented that. We didn’t mind though- being creative is always fun! Instead of the beach, we headed over to a local nature preserve- Avalon Park and PreserveDSCN0423 DSCN0426

It is a really gorgeous place, and a lot larger than I realized. It’s 76 acres of wild nature (mostly- minus the trails) right in the middle of our little suburbia. I was pretty shocked and amazed.

While in the preserve we tried to geocache but after crawling under bushes and trees with no luck…we decided it wasn’t meant to be.DSCN0427 DSCN0429

then we wandered around some local towns, and I showed him what my hometown is all about. after that, it was back home to help prepare for a party that night- a party for all my friends/my family friends to meet Nate.

DSCN0434

we had way too much fun dipping cookies and making mischief!

the party went really well, but I didn’t take any pictures for the sake of just enjoying the night!

Saturday we went into NYC and Sunday we celebrated Father’s day…a recap part 2 coming later!

Leave a Reply

