jeni’s splendid ice creams

My review of Jeni’s Splendid Ice Creams

This weekend my lovely boyfriend came to visit (I’ll recap the weekend in the next post!) and he brought the most delicious ice creams with him. Well, he actually sent them ahead- you can order them online and get them shipped! So when he arrived, the ice cream was already waiting in my freezer.

Jeni’s is a brand of ice creams crafted to “make the best ice creams possible and make the world a better place”. It is homemade American ice cream with delicious, quality ingredients in each unique flavor. They have signature, perennial, and limited edition ice creams in addition to sorbets, frozen yogurts, and ice cream sandwiches.

I have been lucky enough to visit a few Jeni’s shops (there are 9 in Ohio and 1 in Tennessee) on some visits to my boy. The stores are adorable, and it’s so fun to taste test all the unique flavors-of-the-moment! So without further ado…our review of these delicious ice creams.



IMG_1116

DSCN0400

IMG_1118

The first flavor we tried was- Juniper and Lemon Curd a limited edition flavor. The best part of this was the bubbles of fresh lemon curd throughout the ice cream. The juniper flavor was a little strong though, so if you don’t care for it this might not be your thing. I thought it was scrumptious!

 IMG_1117

The second flavor- Salty Caramel. I feel like salted caramel things are popping up everywhere now- especially in chocolate bars and cakes! And I won’t complain. I think this is a perfect flavor combination and this ice cream was no exception. Smooth, with the tang of the salt cutting through the flavor in the most delicious way.

IMG_1119

Third was a classic….dark chocolate! Rich, creamy, the website puts it so well- “tastes like the inside of a truffle”. Enough said.

IMG_1121

And I saved my favorite for last. Brambleberry Crisp. This ice cream is so delicious. A mix of blackberries, black currants, and black raspberries layered throughout the vanilla ice cream, with chunks of oat-y crumble-y streusel delightfully mixed in. This is my favorite Jeni’s flavor (so far!)

In order of favorites this is how I rate them…

1- Brambleberry Crisp

2- Salty Caramel

3- Dark Chocolate

4- Juniper and Lemon Curd

If you’re in Ohio I recommend you run to a Jeni’s store to get some of this one of a kind ice cream! If not, you can order online! It’s a little pricey (about $12 per pint). But… definitely worth it for a gift (for the foodie in the fam?!) or for a party, or just because you deserve it!

Leave a Reply

