a new take on the hummus plate.

One of the main reasons I started this blog, was to share my passion for healthy living. As long as I can remember, I have been interested in the idea of eating healthy, but it wasn’t really until my senior year of high school that I began to learn what “healthy living” actually meant. NOT “low fat” “diet” foods, but real, whole, unprocessed foods; lean protein, and plenty of carbs!

I have also been a vegetarian for 6 years, and am now a vegan. My focus is eating a plant-based whole foods diet, and I believe it’s the best way there is to eat! I’m sure I’ll rant more in the future about veganism and my reasons…but for now I just wanted to share a delicious snack I put together this afternoon.

Hummus and veggies (or any other vehicle that can be used to give me hummus) are a big staple in my diet. Not to mess with the classics, but I thought I’d try a different take on it today.

Recipe: Roasted Vegetables and Hummus

I’m not sure if this can really be justified as a recipe, but I enjoyed it so much I wanted to share!

Ingredients:

1-2 cups of any vegetables you like- I used bell peppers and romaine but almost anything would work!

1/2 TBS olive oil (or sunflower/safflower/coconut- whatever you like!)

1/4 cup hummus

optional: cayenne pepper, basil, cumin..anything you like to mix it up!

I started by chopping all the veggies and tossing them into a griddle pan (is that what it’s called? a grill pan?..) with a little bit of olive oil

IMG_0945

I threw the peppers in first, because they take a little longer to cook

From the start to finish they cooked for 10 minutes, and were perfectly soft!

About 5 minutes in, I added the romaine.IMG_0946

It gave it just enough time to get some grill action and heat, but not all burned up!

Before I grabbed the veggies out of the pan, I sprinkled some cayenne pepper on top for an extra spark!

IMG_0949

Add some hummus and and a plate…and.. the finished product! I enjoyed this so much- a mix up on a classic snack. The romaine was especially delicious, I’ll have to do this more often!

Leave a Reply

